When I Got Snoopy

by Carolyn

This is a story about when I got my dog Snoopy.  It was one of the best days of my life. Snoopy came up to Brooklyn from Richmond, Virginia.

 About 6 months before I got Snoopy, my parents decided to get me a dog.  I am an only child and my mom and dad wanted me to have a buddy.  We decided on a Beagle right away.  Beagles love children.

 It took a while to find a good breeder who had Beagle puppies to sell.  We sent her a deposit and six weeks later we met her in New Jersey to pick-up our “Snoopy”.  The breeder who sold us Snoopy has been breeding Beagles for over 20 years.  She made sure that my mother read a book called The Art of Raising a Puppy.    Patti Staub is the name of the breeder, and she is listed on the internet as head of The National Beagle Club.  She seemed to have tears in her eyes when she handed Snoopy to us. It was clear that Pat had grown to love him very much.

I fell in love with Snoopy the second I saw him.  It took about a week for him to get used to his new home.  Every morning when I got up I put him on my lap and pet him.  This helped Snoopy feel loved.  All the love we gave Snoopy he gave back to us.  Now I think of Snoopy as my baby brother.

Snoopy has also taught us the best things in life are simple.  Snoopy does not need anything to be happy except a beautiful spring day, a stick found in the park, or a trip to the dog run to see his friends.  Snoopy taught us that the best things in life are also free, like a big sloppy dog kiss and a tail wagging madly as a greeting after a long day.

1 Comment

Filed under Carolyn

One response to “When I Got Snoopy

  1. What a sweet post! I hope you and Snoopy are still enjoying lots of fun times together. We have a beagle puppy too, his name is Charlie and he’s almost 10 months old. Beagles are definitely a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

